The University of Malta can trace its roots back to 1592 with the establishment of Collegium Melitense by Papal intervention. Prior to this, the Jesuits were empowered to confer the degrees of Magister Philosophiae and Doctor Divinitatis. This decree specified that other subjects such as Humanities and Grammar should also be taught. The origins of the University’s medical school were founded when Grand Master Cotoner appointed Fra Dr Giuseppe Zammit as lecturer in Anatomy and Surgery at the Sacra Infermeria (The Knights Hospital) in 1676. This is when medical training was formalised in Malta.

Currently, there are around 10,000 students, including about 750 foreign students from 60 different countries studying full or part-time degree and diploma courses. Each year approximately 2,500 students graduate from the University of Malta.

There are 11 faculties:

Arts; Built Environment; Dental Surgery; Economics, Management & Accountancy; Education; Engineering; Information & Communication Technology; Laws; Medicine & Surgery; Science and Theology.

The University website gives a full breakdown of courses available and associated entry requirements at

The University of Malta (L’Universita ta’Malta) main campus is situated at tal-Qroqq in Msida, right in the centre of Malta. It occupies an area of 195,000 square metres, with the library alone occupying 6,000 metres. There is also a Gozo campus on the sister island which runs part-time evening degree courses in Arts and Commerce subjects.

There is a University Residence in nearby Lija, approximately 4 kms away, providing University students and visitors with modern, fully serviced and comfortable accommodation.

Contact details:

University of Malta
Msida, Malta
Tel: +356 23 402340
Fax: +356 23 402342

Malta University Residence
R. Mifsud Bonnici Street, Lija
Tel: +356 21 436168
Fax: +356 21 434963