For nationals from certain countries, a visa is required to enter Malta. Requirements for visas and the length of issue of a visa may vary from country to country. A visa is an authorization which is issued by a diplomatic mission and affixed to a passport belonging to a third-country national.

Visas for Malta must be obtained prior to entry, and can be issued at a Maltese diplomatic mission abroad, at the representative mission of another EU member state, or, if no overseas representation is based in the home-country of the person wishing to travel, by contacting the Immigration Police Headquarters in Floriana prior to purchasing travel tickets.

Visitors to Malta (except members of the EEA and Switzerland) must be in possession of return or onward tickets, all necessary documents and applicable visas required for their next port of call. Travellers should also have sufficient money available for self-maintenance during the period of their stay.

Malta became a member state of the EU in May 2004, so nationals with passports issued by EU countries do not need a Visa to visit Malta. In late 2007, Malta entered into the borderless Schengen area which includes Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. The Schengen area also includes the non-EU states of Norway and Iceland. All these countries can issue a standard Schengen visa to non-EU nationals and this has a multiple entry option that allows the holder to travel freely within the borders of all member countries. The Schengen area does not include the EU countries of Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom.

EU citizens can live and work in Malta, however, a work permit has to be secured prior to an EU national starting employment. The Maltese authorities issue the work permit in Malta against a small payment usually paid by the employer.

At present, citizens of the United States, Canada, Australia and New Zealand require a passport, but no visa, for a stay of up to three months as a tourist. South African citizens require a Schengen visa in addition to a valid passport.

For travellers from countries outside the EU, information about visa requirements should be checked prior to travel to Malta. If you are in any doubt whatsoever, details can be checked with the Immigration Police, Police Headquarters, Floriana, Republic of Malta.

Tel (+356) 21 224001-7
Fax (+356) 21 247777